top of page
  • Writer's pictureCharles

Timed experiments: Finger loop vs Marudai

Well, three data points don't make a trend but hopefully it gives hope for future data points. This last Saturday I was at an event called Clothiers where I had three people take part in my experiment, Which is faster Kute-Uchi or Kumihimo? I'll go more into depth of the setup of my experiment but I chose a braiding pattern for each that had a similar number of elements and similar finished product.


Three people, two of whom were already string playing artisans, one with tablet weaving and the other embroidery and some tablet weaving, and one who...well let's just say is good at making Gordian knots when it comes to string, each braided for five mins on both finger looping and marudai braids. The two subjects with string experience were both vaguely familiar with loop braiding having done very little in the past but had not done any kumihimo before. So they skewed the results slightly but I hope that with enough data points even that can present a trend. Oh, their results; they both loop braided over twice the length of kumihimo.


But, the third subject, that's the real story here and something I hope to continue to see. See, here the subject had no experience with loop braiding or kumihimo meaning their proficiency was equal and still they loop braided 40% longer than the length of kumihimo.

35 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Tension Experiment Part 1

Six months since my last blog update, sorry for taking so long life sometimes takes interesting turns. I’m a member of a reenactment group and every year we have a arts and sciences showcase. It’s not

Apathy, Delays, and...Woodworking?

I have to apologize for the lack of posts recently; I had been aiming for at least once a week. I recently graduated with my Masters in Library and Information Sciences and had had zero job interviews

The last week and some experiments

So, over the last week, I've been making some videos for my YouTube channel. And I've been working on some braiding experiments. 'Mmmmm, experiments!' Yes, when I began this blog I was working on one

bottom of page